Tue. May 11th, 2021
India Today Web Desk

India’s vice-captain and opening batsman Rohit Sharma is among the many 4 athletes who’ve been beneficial for India’s highest sporting honour — the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

Together with Rohit Sharma, Asian Video games gold medalist Vinesh Phogat, desk tennis champion Manika Batra and Paralympic gold medalist Mariappan Thangavelu have been beneficial for the Khel Ratna Award.

The choice comes after the Nationwide Sports activities Awards choice committee met on Tuesday for deciding the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna and different nationwide sports activities awards. That is solely the primary time since 2016 names of 4 athletes have been beneficial for the award.

Rohit Sharma is about to develop into solely the 4th cricketer after Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli to be conferred with Khel Ratna Award. Tendulkar was the primary Indian cricketer to bag the Khel Ratna Award when he did so in 1998. Dhoni obtained the sporting honour after main India to the T20 World Cup in 2007 whereas Virat Kohli gained the award together with weightlifter Mirabai Chanu in 2018.

Vinesh Phogat turned the primary girl wrestler to win an Asian Video games gold medal in 2018 whereas star paddler Manika Batra had a outstanding 12 months in 2018 whereby she gained the Commonwealth Video games gold medal and Asian Video games bronze in ladies’s singles.

In the meantime, Mariappan Thangavelu created historical past on the Rio Paralympic Video games when he gained the gold medal in Excessive Soar (T42).

The Khel Ratna Award was gained by Paralympian Deepa Malik and wrestler Bajrang Punia in 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *