Sat. Sep 19th, 2020
India Today Web Desk

Royal Challengers Bangalore on Monday announced the signing of Australia leg-spinner Adam Zampa for Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020. Zampa will exchange his senior nationwide teammate and speedy bowler Kane Richardson and include to the firepower in the spin division.

Kane Richardson was purchased for Rs four crore by RCB at the IPL 2020 auction following a fierce bidding war. Nevertheless, the Australia speedy bowler will not be portion of IPL 2020 as he is due to develop into a father.

“The RCB relatives is enthusiastic for Kane and his wife who are expecting the birth of their very first kid and respect his selection to pull out of the tournament,” RCB explained in a social media publish.

Adam Zampa, who went unsold at the auction following setting his base cost at Rs one.five crore, had previously represented Growing Pune Supergiant. Zampa will join the likes of Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, and Pawan Negi as RCB boast of a formidable spin unit to make use of the situations in the UAE.

Zampa played eleven matches for the now-defunct RPS in IPL 2016 and 2017 and picked up 19 wickets at a staggering normal of 14.63. The leg-spinner has a terrific record towards RCB captain Virat Kohli who will now be only dealing with him at the nets.

RCB have not gone for a like-for-like substitute, looking at the situations in the UAE which are anticipated to suit the spinners.

The Virat Kohli-led workforce finished its necessary quarantine time period in the UAE and has begun instruction at the ICC Academy in Dubai. Head coach Mike Hesson explained RCB will be instruction in batches in the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic in the lead up to IPL 2020.

IPL 2020 will be played from September 19 to November ten across three cities in the UAE – Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and Dubai. The Kohli-led side are reportedly in line to perform the opening match towards Mumbai Indians.

RCB squad for IPL 2020: Virat Kohli (captain), Aaron Finch, AB de Villiers, Josh Philippe, Parthiv Patel, Dale Steyn, Adam Zampa, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Devdutt Padikkal, Chris Morris, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Isuru Udana, Moeen Ali, Pavan Deshpande, Pawan Negi, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *